RBS Bursary Awards 2016 Sculpture Slam

Date From
Date To
Admission fees

Join us for the Sculpture Slam talks to launch the RBS Bursary Awards 2016, celebrating the work of ten emerging sculptors of outstanding talent and potential.

On Wednesday 21 September 2016, 6:30-8:30pm, the Royal British Society of Sculptors will present the Sculpture Slam - an energetic series of 5 minute presentations delivered relay-style by the 10 winners of the RBS Bursary Awards 2016. This lively set of back-to-back talks will lend unique insight into the practice of the 10 awardees who represent the best and brightest emerging contemporary sculptors: Alice Al Khatib, Saelia Aparicio, Stuart Calvin, William Darrell, Magali Hebert-Huot, Evy Jokhova, Eva Masterman, Melissa Pierce Murray, Susie Olczak, and Matt Picon. Due to their international status some of our awardees will be giving their talks via video link.

Ana Catarina Pereira, 2014 Bursary Winner, will be joining us to discuss how the Awards have benefited her sculptural practice and what being a member of the Society means to her. Her work will also be on display in the Studio Gallery.

Each year the RBS Bursary Awards are given to ten early career artists working in three dimensions judged to be of outstanding talent. Integral to the society's aim to promote the diverse language of contemporary sculpture, the Bursary Awards provide a platform to emerging sculptors to realise their full potential in the professional sphere. Open to Sculptors of any age and nationality, with or without formal training, working in any style or media the awards are designed to provide vital support during what for many is a difficult transition to successful professional practice.

For more information see our 'What's On' page!